Season 9 of Homeland Is Actually Happening : Things You Will See!

Homeland is an American espionage thriller series which has received an amazingly positive response from the audience. It has also received 8.3 out of 10 on IMDb.

It includes crime, drama, and mystery as well. The series involves around a bipolar CIA operative who becomes convinced that a prisoner of war has been turned by al-Qaeda and is planning to carry out a terrorist attack on American soil.

Homeland was created by Howard Gordon and Alex Gansa, and it stars Claire Danes, Damian Lewis, and Mandy Patinkin.

The plot is based on an Israeli television series called Prisoners of War by Gideon Raff.

All seasons of Homeland arrived on Showtime, and they all include 8 seasons, so we expect the 9th season to have the total of 12 episodes as well.

Homeland is not renewed yet for the ninth season, so it is not officially confirmed.

It was previously announced that the eighth season of the series is the final one.

Season 1- How did everything start?


The first season involves around Carrie Mathison, a Central Intelligence Agency operations officer who, was put on probation and also reassigned to the CIA’s Counterterrorism Center in Langley, Virginia. She ended up in that situation because of conducting an unauthorized operation in Iraq. In addition, Carry has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, which she has to hide from the CIA. She gets the medication with the help of her sister.

Her jobs gets even more complicated when she finds out that Nicholas Brody, a U.S. Marine Sergeant who had been missing since 2003, has been rescued during raid on a compound which belongs to terrorist Abu Nazir. Carrie thinks that Brody is the American prisoner of war who plans to commit a terrorist attack. However, everyone else consider Brody a hero.

When she realized that she has no chance of convincing her boss to believe her about Brody, she came to the only person she could trust, her mentor, Saul Berenson. They started investigating Brody together.

Eventually, he planned to assassinate the Vice President with a suicide vest but changed his mind at the last moment after talking to his daughter Dana. Carrie becomes even more paranoid after that.

Season 2- Is Brody a terrorist?


The second season Homeland premiered on September 30, 2012 on Showtime and it was concluded on December 16, 2012.

Set in the aftermath of Season 1, Carrie is currently on leave from the CIA. However, she was recruited for an operation in Beirut by her mentor Saul Berenson, which resulted in them securing evidence that Nicholas Brody was in fact turned by al-Qaeda and working against the United States. During that time, Brody become closer to the Vice President since he entered politics.

Season 3- What happened next?

The third season premiered on September 29, 2013, and concluded on December 15, 2013.

After the CIA bombing at the end of the second season, Brody is now on the run, suspected of having delivereding a bomb. Saul became as Acting Director of the CIA and planned to turn Major General Majid Javadi so he could have him influence policy for the United States in Iran.

Season 4- True price of power


In season 4, Carrie’s CIA career took a turn when she became an overseas station chief in a highly volatile region, but every drone strike and tactical raid came at a cost and she soon learned the true price of power. During that time, Saul was fighting to stay in the intelligence game.

Season 5- Berlin

The fifth season of the American television drama premiered on October 4, 2015, and concluded on December 20, 2015.

Two years later, Carrie no longer works for the CIA but for a philanthropic foundation in Berlin, called Düring Foundation. She and her former colleagues were trying to stop a terrorist attack and locate CIA mole as well.

This season includes a few real world subjects in its storylines, such as Vladimir Putin, ISIS, Bashar al-Assad, Edward Snowden and the European migrant crises.

Season 6- Senator Elizabeth Keane


The sixth season is set around the election of the United States’ first female president, Senator Elizabeth Keane. It deals with a suspected cover-up of a terror plot.

Season 7- Leaving the White House

This season premiered on February 11, 2018, and concluded on April 29, 2018, on Showtime.

Carrie has left her job in the White House and is now living with her sister Maggie. Her goal was to secure the release of the 200 members of the intelligence community that  were arrested in the last season, under President Keane’s orders.

Season 8- Negotiating peace


The eighth season premiered on February 9, 2020, and concluded on April 26, 2020.

Saul Berenson was assigned to negotiate peace with the Taliban in Afghanistan. Carrie is still recovering from her brutal treatment as a prisoner in Russia, but Saul tries to take her to Afghanistan, since her knowledge and experience there are essential.

Carrie Mathison- What is so special about her?


Carrie grew up in a suburb of Washington D.C. and later graduated from Princeton. She lives on a thin line between sanity and madness, and the only things keeping her sane are her pills for controlling bipolar disorder.

She is single since  she has no time for relationships. The only place where she can find the opportunity for love is her workplace, which can be very troubling. In addition, she is assured that she is going to end up alone.

Carrie is willing to sacrifice anything for her professional and patriotic mission, making her one of the C.I.A.’s best agents, but she’s also created a lot of problems for the agency.

Saul Berenson


He grew up feeling like an outsider, since he was one of the only Jewish residents of Calliope, Ind., for which he faced discrimination. He is a CIA officer who knows the ins and outs of international politics like no one else. He is willing to sacrifice himself for his country.